Founded 1845 | Yale University


Site Map

Otto Sonder Award

Excellent Grand Chapter Advisors Recognized

The Dr. Otto L. Sonder Grand Chapter Advisor Award is given annually to a Grand Chapter Advisor who displays exceptional passion, commitment, and drive for a chapter, provisional chapter, or interest group during the current academic year.

Created during the 2006 Grand Chapter, the award recognizes a Grand Chapter Advisor who has helped to advance the Vision and Purpose of the Fraternity on a chapter level.

Otto Louis Sonder, American '47, Delta Beta Xi '67, was awarded the Evin C. Varner, Jr. Distinguished Service Award in 1996. Brother Sonder served as Faculty Advisor of the Alpha Gamma Upsilon Fraternity at Lycoming College (Williamsport, Pennsylvania) and orchestrated the merger with Alpha Sigma Phi Fraternity and Alpha Gamma Upsilon Fraternity, which was finalized in 1965. Lycoming College became the Gamma Rho Chapter of Alpha Sigma Phi. He served as the Gamma Rho Grand Chapter Advisor at Lycoming College 1961-1974 then served as the Beta Xi Grand Chapter Advisor at Hartwick College (Oneonta, New York) 1974-2006. Brother Sonder gave more than 45 years of service to the "Old Gal."

Nominations for the Otto L. Sonder Grand Chapter Advisor Award are due on April 15 each year. Below is a complete list of the Dr. Otto L. Sonder Grand Chapter Advisor Award recipients.

 2016 Dr. Otto Sonder Chapter Advisor of The Year

Name: George Alexander
Chapter Designation: Beta Theta
College and Initiation: Rutgers '67
Alumni Positions: Pi Chapter - Grand Chapter Advisor

George Alexander has served as Grand Chapter Advisor for the Pi Chapter at the University of Colorado since 2011. As Grand Chapter Advisor, he built an active and engaged Chapter Council, is a positive presence at the chapter house, and attends Chapter Meetings on a weekly basis. Not only was this award winner nominated by his Chapter President, but 14 other members of the chapter submitted supporting documents.

One nominator said, “George is one of the most dedicated men I have met in my life. He plays an enormous role in the lives of all of our brothers. His words of wisdom at every chapter meeting always ring true and I would argue that he is one of the reasons our chapter has become so successful. When we succeed, he pushes us to do better, and when we struggle, he facilitates our success, not by telling us what to do, but rather giving us direction and the tools to succeed. As GCA he has helped us through our colonization, chartering and exponential growth. He has helped brothers struggling with alcohol abuse issues, brothers struggling with grades, and brothers working to adapt to college after military service. He does all of this with a fatherly demeanor. The Pi chapter brothers know that George has our back and is always there for us. Furthermore, George has never once missed a chapter meeting in the last 4 years, a Brotherhood education meeting since its start two years ago, Initiation or a Pledge Ceremony.”

Past Otto Sonder Award Recipients 

2015: Mark Bundy, Illinois '77
2014: Scott Rarick, Capital '10
2013: Pat O'Toole, McDaniel '04
2012: Edward Kokkelenberg, IIT '54
2011: Michael Young, Murray State '94
2010: Marcus Schreiber, Central Michigan '03
2009: Byron Hughes, Salisbury '06
2008: Gregory Ghirardi, Ohio State '98

In this section